Participants in Essex 2007 Intro SNA Course

Name Email Address Contact Info Research Interests
Alan J. Daly ajdaly@ucsd.edu   Education  Organizations/Leadership
Anita Fabos a.fabos@uel.ac.uk Refugee Studies  University of East London  4-6 University Way  London E16 2RD Refugee populations, esp urban refugees and their transnational networks; Islamic transnationalism; migration, ethnicity and identity esp for Muslim Arabs
Brian Cugelman brian@cugelman.com   Online viral marketing, spidering web sites and link analysis, e-trust and persuasion, non-profit relations
Carolina Nuti nuti-carolina@hotmail.it   sociology...
Florian Tomini florian.tomini@governance.unimaas.nl Currently I am based in Maastricht, The Netherlands (Maastricht Graduate Shcool of Governace). I am currently interested in studying family ties and exchange within extended family networks.
Gareth Pearce gpp28@cam.ac.uk   Use of SNA to study disease spread (esp animal & zoonotic diseases and sociality in animals.
Henry A. Mollel hamollels@yahoo.com   Governance of actors in the public sector: The implication in the improvement of social services (particularly in developing countries)
Isil Cerem Cenker ccenker@su.sabanciuniv.edu   Issues of institutional reform and change, political culture, trust and social capital
Jessica Haas jessica.haas@sowi.hu-berlin.de   relational sociology (theory as well as methods), economic sociology
Jim Hargreaves james.hargreaves@lshtm.ac.uk   Epidemiology, Public Health, Infectious Diseases
Jiri Safr jiri.safr@soc.cas.cz Prague, Czech Rep. social stratification, distances in stratification space (homophily/heterophily, social resources, and subjective perceptions)
Joyce K. Edmonds jkedmon@emory.edu   ego-based social networks  health seeking behavior  social influence in household decision making  social networks in developing countries
Lorenzo Bosi l.bosi@qub.ac.uk   social movement  political violence  radicalism  political parties
Louise Cooke l.cooke@lboro.ac.uk Dept. of Information Science,  Loughborough University,   Loughborough,  Leicestershire,  LE11 2HX  UK    http://www.lboro.ac.uk/departments/dis/people/lcooke.html Information and Knowledge Management  Use of Social Network Analysis to investigate information and knowledge flows in public and private sector organisations.
Lukas Zenk lukas.zenk@donau-uni.ac.at http://www.donau-uni.ac.at/knowcomm    Danube University Krems    Dr. Karl-Dorrek-Straße 30    A-3500 Krems, Austria (Europe) (Intra)Organizational studies  - Communication patterns and knowledge sharing in teams/divisions  - Interventions in organizations (using SNA)  - Improving social skills (using SNA)  - Longitudinal studies (e.g. group dynamics, organizational development)  Systems sciences
Lynn Sibley lsibley@emory.edu Lillian Carter Center for Internatinoal Nursing, 1520 Clifton Rd. NE, Rm 436, Atlanta GA 30322 Maternal and newborn heatlh, global health  Consus analysis, pattern recognition  SNA,barriers to health care
Marco Paiola marco.paiola@unipd.it via del santo, 33  35100 padova  italy local value creation of cultural initiatives (events)  creativity situated in networks and clusters
Margaret E Ross margaret.e.ross@gmail.com    
Maria Van Kerkhove Maria.VanKerkhove@lshtm.ac.uk London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Infectious Disease Epidemiology Unit Epidemiology
Moa Martensson Moa.Martensson@statsvet.uu.se Department of Government, Uppsala University, Sweden Political science topics, including political representatives, political parties, interest organizations and lobbying.
Nafy Niang nafy.niang@unil.ch   standardization of services; development theory; offshore economy; outsourcing; call centers; codes of conduct and benchmarks;
Randy Marks camprandy@yahoo.com Live in Washington DC  
Riccardo De Vita rdevita@liuc.it   Strategic Management  Innovation  Entrepreneurship  SNA
Rich DeJordy dejordy@bc.edu   Organizational Analysis; Identity Networks; Institutional Theory
Ron Barrett Ron.barrett@emory.edu LCCIN, School of Nursing  1520 Clifton Rd. NE  Atlanta, GA 30322 Social dynamics of infectious diseases  Caregiving at the end of life  Religious healing
Stefanie Oppermann Stefanie.Opperman@oline.de   Policy networks (in European towns, countries and the EU; especially the role of ideas and beliefs in those networks -> ACF + Network analysis; What about transferring those concepts on policy networks in North African policy networks?)
Tim Yates timy@futurefoundation.net Work phone number: 020 304 24701 Diffusion of messages (e.g. marketing messages, gossip, invitations etc) through a network (both online network and other networks).  What affects the match between messages & actors and how efficiently/convincingly the latter pass on the former.  Seeding of messages - issues surrounding what affects whether particular seeding is effective or not.